When I first noticed this cartoon-y go-getter on Steam, I was like “Dafuq is this game? Do they mean Doofus?”. Now that I’ve played it for a week, I’m still like “Dafuq is this game?”
WordPress is an asshole.
This ‘flash-based turn-oriented MMORPG’ started off simple and decent, with a good selection of classes to choose from, and an extremely basic character customization board. Think Pokemon Go style, where all you can really change is the outfit colours and the hair… Kinda. Anyway, the characters were pretty okay-looking so I did the thing, and set out into the tutorial to find out dafuq this game is.
WordPress is an asshole.
So basically, it’s a chibi-anime FF Tactics meets a DBZ brand World of Warcraft. You’re a little dude in a big magical world, and you gotta find all of the Dofus, which are just different-coloured dragon eggs. It’s a pretty full game, there are a good amount of well-rounded professions you can learn and train into, with a simple RPG characteristics/spell point system that scales with you as you level up on a large open-world map. A lot of running back and forth in the beginner area signals that this will not be too different from starting off in any other MMO, jam-packed with tons of finding out you need a magical thing to progress, going to get the magical thing, fighting a swarm of mobs and noobs trying to collect the magical thing, coming back with magical thing, only to find out this is the wrong magical thing all along and your princess is in another castle. That’s all fine and good, I’ve been spamming RPGs since I was in diapers, I know the deal. So I continued on with my quests, and headed out of the beginner town to start my journey in search of the Dofus, full of enchantment and wonder to find what was next…. Only to get smacked with a big red pop-up when I clicked on the new stuff I found telling me that THIS CONTENT IS FOR SUBSCRIBERS ONLY……
WordPress is an asshole.
Okay, Ankama, I get you have to make money somehow. Marketing a game as FREE on Steam instead of FREE DEMO or FREE TRIAL when that’s obviously what it is, isn’t the way to do it. Cause yanno what? I DIDN’T subscribe. I deleted the game. Boom. How does that make you feel Ankama Games? Sure, your game was OKAY, but nowhere NEAR good enough for me to want to pay $65.00 a year on your derivative, Farmville-esque Tactics knock-off.
WordPress is an asshole.
I WILL say, they do have a fair selection of payment options for those of you who decide to give a try and like it enough. Shit, you can just play for a week for three bucks, if you’re intrigued enough. I wouldn’t though. I give this game a 5/10, purely because it was pleasant to look at, had a fair selection of different classes to start with, and interesting NPCs.
