As a fan of Gene Roddenberry’s work and RPG-style video games alike since childhood, I have long awaited a Star Trek game that could live up to the massive potential available in these modern times. I wish I could say that Star Trek Online WAS that game, unfortunately, I can not, in good faith, make this claim. For a PC game only just released in 2010, it is quite possibly the buggiest and most infuriating game I’ve ever played. It wasn’t even released on console until just earlier this year (2016) and suffice it to say, it was far from ready for this ill-conceived porting mission.
WordPress is an asshole.
Imagine my excitement for this, FINALLY a game that would allow me to traverse the expansive universe of the Star Trek mythos. I could play as a Romulan, or a Klingon (BATLH!), or as an alien officer aboard a mighty Starfleet exploration ship. That is, if the floor would stop randomly disappearing out from under me in the middle of sector space. Maybe if the mechanics of the game weren’t SO rushed and so poorly developed, I might actually enjoy my time going where no man has gone before. Maybe if Cryptic games and Perfect World entertainment cared less about their expansive micro-transaction accounting, pumping out tons of half-finished MMORPGs and the quick-porting of every shitty game they’ve made over to console users, and more about the actual coding and precision developmental process it takes to make a game like this work properly, I wouldn’t be here complaining about it to you. No, I’d be hiding in my troll cave commanding my fleet on exploration missions across the stars.
WordPress is an asshole.
Granted, a game like this is a massive undertaking, but it deserves the time it would take to make a solid and secure MMORPG base. While the concept IS extremely exciting, toting tribbles on all the best ships available and putting together well-armed and uniformed teams of mixed races from everything from Nausicaans to liberated Borgs of all species(if you’re willing to pay for it). Yes, dog fights in space and exploring all the worlds you both know and love (and also don’t and would rather avoid), you will do so as if trudging knee deep through a tragic, never-ending Bog of Eternal Stench. Not only this, but it will be MONTHS before you can actually figure out all the complicated intricacies shoved haphazardly into this game.
WordPress is an asshole.
WHHHHYYY do I chose to continually torture myself with Perfect World Ent games? It’s simple, really. I’m a starving, nerdy horse, and they’re a douchebag dangling a half-eaten carrot. I WILL, however, give them the credit due for the storylines and attention paid to the fine detail of Roddenberry’s vision. BUT I give this disaster of a game 5/10, only because it tickles my childhood fantasies and because there’s the slight chance that the Borg will come along and assimilate this trash among them and be destroyed so no one ever has to feel this agonizing pain again.
